Movie trailers, in varying degrees of apprehension and glee

I have not seen the Blood and Chocolate movie yet, but I am dubious. So they’ve decided to set it in Bucharest. Um, okay. I seem to remember the book taking place in the small-town rural US. (Though I could be wrong, it’s been a while.) But whatever. It’s from the people who brought us Underworld. I am not confident. At least it will look pretty, though it’s a shame the plot looks, um, not quite the same. Speaking of which, what is up with the “she must marry the head vampire” plot twist?? I’m pretty sure that’s new. I am preparing to cringe all the way though it, which is a shame. The original book, Annette Curtis Klause’s Blood and Chocolate is a great YA werewolf romance. (There are some words most people don’t put together every day.)

And Bridge to Terebithia! Once again… say what?? I think I need to re-read it, because I remember it being not-so-much about magic quests and spiffy CGI, as… well. Death. I haven’t read the book since I was about nine, but lemme tell you, that’s the part I emphatically remember. When I saw the trailer, I may have… reacted somewhat strongly. There may have been arguing with the TV involved. But I’ll withold judgement until I actually see it.

Lest you all think I hate all book-to-movie adaptations, the new Charlotte’s Web actually looks pretty good. (And no, I haven’t seen it yet, either.)

I will totally be there for the Order of the Phoenix, too. And yes, on the book side of things, I am waiting for July 21st! A couple of people at work have said that they’re taking the day off. I haven’t checked ahead far enough to see if it’s my weekend to work, but my suggestion? We hold a Harry Potter read-in as a library program. Bring your book, a pillow, blankie, air mattress, or whatever else suits, and READ! If you think about it, it’s a great low-maintenance program. No sign-up required, very little prep, we can have some fun with refreshments, and costumes, and it’s definitely all about books. Set up a display table of read-alikes… Now to see if the powers that be go for it.

And on the grown-up-book side of things, a trailer for Blood Ties, based on Tanya Huff’s Blood books. Yayness! I am full of anticipation and squee. (She’s… a half-blind former police detective. He’s…. a romance-novel-writing vampire. Together, THEY FIGHT CRIME! No, seriously!)

Finally, the totally random, the Helsinki Complaints Choir is just one of those bizarre, quirky things. “Finnish artists Tellervo Kalleinen and Oliver Kochta-Kalleinen collected the pet peeves and angst-ridden pleas of people in Helsinki and then composed this choral work around the list of complaints. Music composed by Esko GrundstrÃm.” I’m not going to even try to describe it.

One response to “Movie trailers, in varying degrees of apprehension and glee

  1. Pingback: Bridge to Terebitha revisited « what Elisabeth is reading

Leave a Reply

