Bits and bobs from around the internet

It’s been a long couple of weeks.

Saturday before last, was our second ever kids’ book club program. Monday, Pamela Porter was reading at the library–poet, Governor General award-winner for her novel-in-verse Crazy Man, and an excellent speaker. I was the library person on the scene–not in charge or co-ordinating, but it did mean coming in on my day off. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I did, but after working the weekend before, it meant that by Friday, I had been at the libary for eleven days straight. And in those eleven days, as well as the usual reference desk shifts and ongoing projects…

Tuesday, I was a co-presenter at Weaving Words, the librarian counterpart to two teachers, talking about book clubs and award programs for students.

Thursday and Friday, I did a library tour and was out and about observing the students from our storytelling program in action in the classrooms. (It’s a very cool independent study course offered as a collaboration between the university and the public library, and has been going strong for thirty years now.)

I spent last weekend reading, reading, reading for the Rocky Mountain Book Award committee. We’re getting down to the last month or so, and need to decide on the shortlist soon.

So, though I’ve read a dozen books since Friday, I need a few more days to come up with anything coherent to say. Collecting links is about all I have the brainpower for at this point.

Along the lines of the Great Newbery Scrotum debate, U.S. school suspends students over Vagina Monologues reading, and a follow-up, Vagina Monologues author to address school board over suspension issue.

I am glad to hear that Fun Home and Blankets are back on the shelves at the Marshall Public Library in Missouri. A co-worker passed on an article about this from Publisher’s Weekly to me a couple months ago–I showed it to my department head, and she said “Well, do we have them? Because we should.” (We do.) This is the same awesome lady whose response to our own challenged graphic novels was to inquire if, once we got the new shelving for the graphic novels, there would be room for our Intellectual Freedom Statement over top.

Camel Book Drive: Donate To Kenya’s Mobile Library. Neat-o.

Novel might have helped save missing Scout’s life “According to his father, a key to the boy’s survival might have been a book Michael spent a few weeks reading several years ago: Hatchet, a realistic novel by Gary Paulsen that has attained the status of a young adult classic since its publication in 1988.” Pretty cool.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, as collected over on Bookshelves of Doom. (I’m very glad that the Canadian Raincoast editions have the original UK cover art–I’ve never been too crazy about the US covers.)

Also discovered over at Bookshelves of Doom, new E.L. Konigsburg book! Yay!

Because I think new perpectives on pop culture are cool, Schooled by ‘American Idol’ “In those tacky moments, we can learn about how America views the acts of grading and evaluation that are a standard part of what we do in higher education.”

And for sheer wierd value (and because I am a fan-geek), Dalek Chocolate Cake.

Leave a Reply

