In which I will be talking a lot next weekend

Well, it looks like we’ve got enough people signed up with Inet-Toolbox for another round of workshops! Next weekend, I will be talking about graphic novels and manga for most of Saturday, so if you’re a school or library person and reasonable close to Calgary, it might be worth checking out. (Also, if anybody out there has a favourite site related to manga that’s all useful-like and something you can’t live without, now is the time to let me know so I can include it in my course resources. I’m just sayin’.)

If I’d been thinking ahead, I would have started putting books on holds a month ago. I usually end up bringing a whole wheelie suitcase full of books for browsing and various in-class activities. A few are my own copies, but most of them come from the library and approximately 2/3 of our graphic novels in general and ninety percent of the manga is signed out at any given time. However, working with what I’ve gotten means fewer books to haul up stairs.

Tangentially, for anyone around Regina, my mom’s heading out that way for an author reading this weekend at the Book and Brier Patch.

Apr 14, 2007 2:00 p.m. Betty Jane Hegerat will be reading from her book Running Toward Home. The complex relationships surrounding a foster child reveals the fine line between protection and standing in the way of life lessons. For 24 hours the Calgary Zoo becomes the entire world, and the lines between the nurturing instincts in animals and humans become blurred.

I’m not even going to pretend to be impartial on this one, and am unabashedly telling you all that it will be a great reading. (But really, it will be.)

Leave a Reply

