48 Hour Book Challenge: The End Results!

I am now done the Forty-Eight Hour Book Challenge! I have accomplished:

  • 860 minutes reading
  • 355 minutes blogging
  • 90 minutes networking

Sum total: 21 hours, 45 minutes, 3334 pages, and 14 books! I read,:

And here’s a visual or two:

This is my first year, and I think I’ll definitely try it again next year! I hope to be organized enough to donate to a charity per either hours or books read, too. I decided to sign up at the last minute Friday night, and to use just the books I already had at home.

It’s an eclectic mix of books, and only about a third of it is things that I’ve deliberately chosen. All of the library books I have out right now are adult, not kids or YA (which is very unusual for me, considering which department I run!) but I’ve just come off the heavy duty reading of being part of a local book award committee. After six months of a near-steady diet of new Canadian middle school fiction and nonfiction, the lack of restriction is a giddy thing (but don’t get me wrong, there were some fantastic books!). Over the past few weeks, I’ve been trying to read books that have been waiting for me at home, and library books I’ve had out for a while before bringing home everything else that’s been piling up on my mental to-read list, so that factored into what I had on hand. I also had a pile of YA ARCs that are going to end up in the teen prize bag at my library this summer, so those also got added to the mix, and were a big chunk of what I read. Next year, I think I’ll try to assemble a stack of books I’ve been dying to read but haven’t go to yet, and see what that does to my numbers.

I’ve known for a long time that I read ridiculously fast. *shrug* It’s not speed-reading, just my natural pace. I think it’s some fluke of genetics, because I always have. And it used to annoy me as a kid, because I couldn’t understand why people wouldn’t believe that I’d finished that book already. I don’t think my retention is quite as high as some people who read slower, but I have a pretty lousy head for straight memorization and recall on random facts in general. It does mean I re-read books I love multiple times, which a lot of people don’t quite get.

And apparently, comparing my blogging time to my reading time, I write slow. It’s not my typing speed, either. This challenge has been good for me in forcing me to sit down and blog. I find it’s really (really) easy to slide into a habit of thinking, oh, I’ll write about that later, because the reading is the easy part. Now to just make sure I blog about those last five books… but not tonight!

5 responses to “48 Hour Book Challenge: The End Results!

  1. I see a bunch of great books I want to read… Great job, I hope to see you participating again next year!

  2. What a nice-looking stack of books to have under your belt. Great job!

    Your comments made me make a personal connection that I’ve never made before now. I also tend to read pretty fast, but have terrible retention. I love re-reading books because I often don’t remember enough about them, but it kills me on series books because unless I read them straight through, I’m pretty well lost. I never thought about it in terms of the speed of my reading. Interesting.

    Anyway, thanks for playing!

    • Thanks! I enjoyed the challenge hugely–thank you so much for putting it all together!

      And I’d never made the connection between my reading speed/retention and my tendency to drop series. Huh. I’m okay if the author is a skillful recapper or if it’s something I love enough to reread, but I’ve read an awful lot of the first halves of things.

  3. Pingback: The Blue Helmet by William Bell « what Elisabeth is reading

Leave a Reply

