48HBC: The Home Stretch…. and we’re done!

I got a late start this morning, but was aiming for another four or five book dent in my pile! I slept in–I have no illusions about winning, since I am not giving up sleep. (I needed catch-up time this weeekend if I’m going to make it through next week.) I do admit to standing in the middle of the kitchen, making coffee and waiting for toast with a book in my hand, however.

11:45 -1:00 Blogging (15 min) and networking (60 min). I needed to spend some time wandering about online and checking out everyone else’s blogs, and let my brain digest the books I read last night.

1:00 – 1:35 The Blue Helmet by William Bell (oh so good! nuanced look at the inherent concept of violence)

2:00 – 3:15 Blogging (some breaks for food and fiddling with my itunes playlist beforehand).

3:15 – 4:10 Sister Wife (also amazing! child brides, fictional story loosely based on Bountiful, BC)

4:25 – 4:45, 5:45 – 6:50 Daughter of Flames by Zoe Marriott (solid fantasy with a kick-ass girl leader to save the day)

7:00 – 7:15 Networking break!

7:15 – 7:45 Five Minutes More by Darlene Ryan (relentlessly painful look at a girl whose father has just died.)

7:45 – 8:15, 8:45-10:15, The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan (Totally targeted at the Supernatural crowd, but a surprisingly good brothers-who-fight-demons story)

Annnnd I’m done! Summary post to follow when I have caught my breathe.

Leave a Reply

