Semi-regular link round up: bookish things of many flavours

My poor, overburdened laptop Alice usually has at least two or three Firefox windows open, with at least half a dozen tabs per window. The session saver add-on is my best friend. (A couple weeks ago, I realized that maybe the reason Alice was running so sluggishly was that she had eight windows and close to a hundred and twenty open tabs. Oops.) I keep thinking that oh, that looks interesting, I’ll email/bookmark/blog/tag that on delicious later.

I am happy to say that I don’t have a hundred plus tabs open today, but I do have a gradual accumulation. Here are some of the bits and pieces I’ve come across lately:

I am intrigued by this: Penguin to release last Green Gables book in its entirety “Penguin Canada says it will publish the final volume of the Anne of Green Gables series in its entirety for the first time ever. The Blythes Are Quoted was slated to be the ninth title in Lucy Maud Montgomery’s popular series about head-strong orphan Anne Shirley, but it was never published during the author’s lifetime.”

If I was not insanely busy packing and moving this summer, I would be signing up for the One Shot Southeast Asia blog challenge over at Chasing Ray! (Funny how moving five blocks is just aslabour-intensive as moving across town…)

Booklights has a great list of ways to keep your kids reading over the summer. It’s geared towards kids in the early reading stages. (My unsolicited non-parent-or-teacher librarianly suggestion is for the love of all that’s holy, put down the curriculum lists for the upcoming grade and let them read all the fun stuff they want to. Bring on the Garfield comics, Star Wars novelizations, Rainbow Fairies, Geronimo Stilton and Draw 50 everything books! What else is summer for?)

On a slightly related slant, this article from Parents’ Choice, What-Kids-Who-Don’t-Like-To-Read-Like-To-Read has some good insights, types of books that appeal to reluctant readers, and a booklist of suggestions. (Though it’s a pretty American-centric list, there are some good picks!)

From Fuse 8,Help! My Ten-Year-Old Wants to Read Twilight has some great suggestions for Twilight alternatives, based on what appeals about the book to the reader in the first place.

And if none of the above appeal to you, try Seven Tips for Quitting a Book.

If you want to read through some thoughtful discussion, head to Mitali Perkins’ blog:

Should publishers edit beloved children’s books like LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE or THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA to eliminate racial or ethnic stereotyping? When (if ever) is it okay?

The First Nations Communities Read project is awesome in its own right, and its existence makes me happy. This year’s book is Which Way Should I Go by Sylvia Olsen, Ron Martin, and Kasia Charko.

On the useful link side of things, this author name pronunciation guide from Teaching Books has the authors themselves pronouncing their names for you, with all the style, verve and additional commentary that you would expect. (I’m particularily fond of Jane Yolen and Mo Willems’s entires.)

Here is an interview with Neil Gaiman at Shelf Awareness, immediately post-Newbery. The best bit:

Q: So what do you think about children’s books?

A: They’re terrible; they should be banned. What kind of question is that? I think they’re wonderful. When I was a kid, I was a kid with a book. As far as I was concerned, had you asked me at the age of seven what the most important things in the world are, I’d probably say the first six Narnia books, the first three Mary Poppins books. . . . Had I discovered The Hobbit yet? Not yet. The books that took pride of place on my shelves were Stig of the Dump by Clive King, Tales of Ancient Egypt by Roger Lancelyn Green. I was the kind of kid who, during my summer holidays, would persuade my parents to drop me off at the library in the morning, and I’d spend my day there. Sometimes I’d pack a lunch. At 6:30 when they closed, I’d walk home.

Children’s fiction, for me back then, was the most important thing there is. It has a holy place and position that adult fiction doesn’t have. Adult fiction is a wonderful thing and enriching to the soul and mind, and it takes you to great places. But children’s fiction can change the world and give you a refuge from the intolerable. It can give you a place of safety and show you the world is not bounded by the world you live in–there’s more than that.

I would love to have that last bit condensed into a t-shirt-sized quote…

One response to “Semi-regular link round up: bookish things of many flavours

  1. I’m a little behind on my feed reader, so I didn’t see this post til now but thanks for the link to the tips for quitting a book! 🙂 Great collection of other links too, I hadn’t seen the list of Twilight alts. Will definitely be referring to that.

Leave a Reply

